Board of Directors

Craig Richardson, President

Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC

Craig J. Richardson is Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Economic Mobility (CSEM) and the BB&T Distinguished Professor of Economics at Winston-Salem State University.

Brad DeVos, Secretary/Treasurer

American Institute for Economic Research, Charleston, SC

Brad DeVos is the Director of Programs at the American Institute for Economic Research and Managing Director of the Bastiat Society.

Edward Lopez, Immediate Past President

Western Carolina University, Cullowhee, NC

Edward J. Lopez is Professor of Economics and BB&T Distinguished Professor of Capitalism and Director of Moral Foundations of Capitalism Programs at Western Carolina University.

Peter Calcagno, Board Chairman

College of Charleston, Charleston, SC

Peter Calcagno is a Professor of Economics and Director of the Center for Public Choice & Market Process at the College of Charleston.

Lisa Hazlett Roberts, Board Member

Hazlett Consulting, Stuart, FL

Lisa Hazlett Roberts is the Founder and an Advisor at Hazlett Consulting.

Jane Shaw Stroup, Board Member

James G. Martin Center for Academic Renewal, Cary, NC

Jane Shaw Stroup is the board chair for the James G. Martin Center for Academic Renewal.

Robert Whaples, Board Member

Wake Forest University, Winston-Salem, NC

Robert Whaples is Professor of Economics at Wake Forest University, and Co-Editor and Managing Editor of The Independent Review.

Andrew Taylor, Board Member

North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC

Andrew Taylor is Professor of Political Science and Director of the Foundations of Free Societies Program at North Carolina State University.

Jack Sommer, Board Member Emeritus

University of North Carolina – Charlotte (Retired), Charlotte, NC

Jack Sommer is the Co-Founder of Classical Liberals in the Carolinas and Knight Distinguished Professor of Public Policy, Emeritus at University of North Carolina – Charlotte.

Become a Member

Become a member of the Classical Liberals of the Carolinas today! Your CLC membership includes registration for the annual CLC Conference, a physical copy of the Political Economy in the Carolinas journal and access to all CLC virtual events this academic year.